WQA Leadership Awards

The Water Quality Association annually recognizes individuals and companies who have excelled in their commitment or service to the water quality improvement industry.

Any WQA member is eligible for the individual awards: Hall of Fame AwardLifetime Membership AwardKey AwardRay Cross AwardRegents AwardAward of MeritInternational Award of Merit, or Honorary Membership Award

Nominations are evaluated against each individual award criteria, and winners are chosen by the Board of Governors and announced at the following year's WQA Convention & Exposition.  The 2019 winners have been selected; the call for nominations for the 2020 award will be announced in the fall and an online nomination form provided at that time. 

The new WQA Excellence Award was established in 2017 to honor member companies that demonstrate excellence in customer service, business operations, community service, and innovation. It can be presented in two categories:  Manufacturer/Supplier and Dealer. Companies apply for this honor rather than being nominated; at minimum, the applicant must have been a WQA member for at least three years, sell or manufacture certified products and have at least one certified professional on staff. An online application for the 2020 awards will be provided in the fall of 2019. 

 Please note that not all awards are necessarily given each year. 

2019 Honorees

Hall of Fame
Douglas C. Haring, MWS, CI, CWR
Clack Corporation

Hall of Fame

Douglas R. Oberhamer
Culligan of Phoenix

Lifetime Member

Vincent M. Kent, CWS, CI
Abendroth Water Conditioning

Regents Award

Joe Landowski
Culligan of Waukesha

Award of Merit
David Martin
Water Conditioning & Purification International Magazine

Award of Merit

Kelly R. Thompson,


Award of Merit

Michael R. Long, MWS

Key Award

Donald K. McGhee, MWS
Hydro Systems Inc.

Next Gen Award 

Ryan Prince
GE Appliances

Next Gen Award 

Sterling McNeill
Parker Hannifin 

Ray Cross Award

Chris Wilker
EcoWater Systems LLC 

Honorary Member Award
The Hon. Richard A. Gephardt
Gephardt Government Affairs