Notice of 2019 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Water Quality Association


The 2019 Annual Meeting of the Members of the Water Quality Association will be held at the Las Vegas Convention Center, 3150 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, NV, Wednesday, April 24, 2019, at 9:30 a.m. for the following purposes:

1.  To elect directors

2.  To transact such other business as properly may come before the meeting

In connection with the election of directors, below is the slate of nominees presented by the Nominating Committee. If you are unable to attend the meeting, please complete the proxy voting form, and return to the WQA offices so that it will be received prior to April 5, 2019.

By order of the Board of Directors,

Pauli Undesser
Executive Director

2019 Slate of Nominees

Manufacturer/Supplier Category

Judd Larned
Culligan International Company (Rosmont, IL)

Judd Larned is President, North America, for Culligan International and has been in this role since 2015.  Prior to taking on North America, Judd was Global VP of Strategy for Culligan and has had responsibilities for business units in China and North America during his tenure.  Prior to joining Culligan, Judd worked at Bain & Company in strategy consulting for almost 15 years, with experience across many industries including chemicals, agriculture and retail, and a variety of capabilities.  He holds a BSE in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Michigan and an MBA from Duke University.

Darwin "Buzz" Goldstein, MWS
Charger Water Treatment Products LLC (Elgin, IL)

Darwin R. “Buzz” Goldstein is general manager of Charger Water Treatment Products. He started working in the water treatment industry in 1967 and has worked in retail, manufacturing and wholesale during his career.  In 1980, Buzz was one of the co-founders of Charger Water Treatment Products, LLC. He joined WQA in the early 1980s and in 2002 was honored with the Quality Circle Award for Membership Recruiting. He serves on the Membership Committee and the Plumber/Well Driller Task Force. 

Toby Thomas
Kinetico Incorporated (Newbury, OH)

Toby Thomas is President and CEO of Kinetico Inc. Previously he served as Kinetico’s Chief Marketing Officer, responsible for driving many of Kinetico’s successful growth strategies. He started his career as a new products process engineer with Frito-Lay in their R&D group, and he also was a Senior Partner at Monitor Group, a leading global strategy and growth consulting. Toby earned a B.S. in Chemical Engineering with Honors from Queen’s University (Kingston, Ontario), and an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School, where he was an honors student. In addition to the WQA Board of Governors, he has served on the Board of Trustees of Queen’s University.

Chris Wilker
EcoWater Systems, LLC (Woodbury, MN)

Chris Wilker has more than 30 years experience in the water treatment industry, most of it with Marmom Water, a fully owned subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway. Most recently he served as president of EcoWater Systems. Chris has served eight years on the WQA Board of Directors/Board of Governors and is finishing a year as WQA President. He also serves on the Finance, Governance, Nominating, and WQRF Research Advisory committees, as well as Chair of the WQA-PAC Steering Committee. In 2015, he was the recipient of the WQA Bill Peltier Memorial Award, and in 2019 he is being honored with the Ray Cross Award.

Amanda Wakem-Moore, CWS
Atlantic Filter Corporation (West Palm Beach, FL)

Amanda Wakem-Moore, vice president of Atlantic Filter Corporation, has been around the water treatment business for all of her life and grew up in a water conditioning family. She frequently attended industry functions with her family and set her eye on being a water treatment professional at an early age. Amanda earned an economics and business administration degree from Vanderbilt University and joined the family business upon graduation. Amanda  was the recipient of WQA’s NextGen award in 2017. She is president of the Florida Water Quality Association (FWQA) and serves on WQA’s Women In Industry (WIN) Advisory Council.

Dealer Category

Mark Campbell
DS Services of America, Inc. (Atlanta, GA) 

Mark Campbell serves as Senior Vice President, Revenue Officer at DS Services, a water and coffee direct-to-consumer services provider. Mr. Campbell joined the company in 2004 and has served in various leadership roles, including Vice President, Business Development & International Sales, Vice President, Marketing and Vice President, Sales & Marketing.  Prior to joining DS Services, he held various sales and marketing roles with consumer packaged goods companies, including The Kellogg Company, The Keebler Company and PepsiCo. In addition to WQA, Mark is a member of the National Automatic Merchandising Association and the International Bottled Water Association. 

Jeffrey B. Hill, MWS
Robert B. Hill Co. (Minneapolis, MN)

Jeff Hill is a second-generation owners of the family business, Robert B. Hill Co., which focused on commercial softeners from its beginning in 1958 but now is also a regional manufacturer of softeners and filters and a distributor of multiple product lines. He got his start in the water quality industry when he was in high school, unloading box cars of salt for 8 cents a bag. He later earned a BA in chemistry from Southwest Minnesota State University and spent 11 years as VP of Engineering for Carbonair Environmental Services before returning to his roots at Hill.  In addition to completing his first term on the WQA Board of Directors, Jeff has served on Minnesota's Plumbing Code Advisory Committee and is active in Minnesota legislative affairs.

Kelly Johnson, CWS
Quality Water Services (Ponca City, OK)

Kelly Johnson is president and owner of Quality Water Services, a third-generation family business in the water treatment, bottled water and pool & spa industry. After earning a marketing degree from Oklahoma State University, he spent a decade in sales before joining Quality Water as business manager in 1994. In 1998, he bought the business and became president. Kelly is finishing his first term on the WQA Board of Directors.