Professional Certification Titles

Levels of WQA Certification:

Core Level

   Certified Water Treatment Representative (CWR)

For professionals selling and configuring treatment options for aesthetic contaminants.

   Certified Water Specialist (CWS)

For professionals selling and configuring treatment equipment and multistage treatment trains for residential problem water applications.

   Certified Installer

For professionals placing POE and POU water treatment in residences. Focuses on safe installation, code compliance, and general water treatment knowledge.

   Certified Service Technician (CST)

For field professionals servicing existing POU/POE residential treatment systems. Focuses on troubleshooting and correcting underlying problems.

   Certified Cooler Technician (CCT)

For professionals installing point-of-use coolers and reverse osmosis systems at business and residential locations, as well as troubleshooting and serving existing systems.

   Certified Treatment Designer

Designed for those in business-to-business sales and support, technical sales, technical support, R&D engineers, public health professionals or others involved in troubleshooting and maintenance of POU/POE water treatment technologies and equipment.

Advanced Level

   Master Water Specialist (MWS)

Reflects broad experience in treatment design for health-related contaminants and problem water applications. Five years' experience in problem water treatment, along with completion of the appropriate MEP pathway, is required to be eligible for the MWS certification.

Eligibility for certification

Eligibility for certification will require completion of the Basics and Fundamentals modules and appropriate Core module in WQA's Modular Education Program (MEP).

  • Certified professionals holding the titles of CWS-V and CWS-VI prior to May 1, 2015 were re-designated as Master Water Specialists
  • CWS-II, CWS-III and CWS-IV title holders prior to May 1, 2015 were re-designated simply as Certified Water Specialists. All Certified Water Specialists may work through the advanced curriculum of the new MEP program to achieve the Master Water Specialist title
  • Sales Representatives (CSR) title holders prior to May 1, 2015 were retitled as Certified Water-Treatment Representatives (CWR). They may pursue any other core certification title through the MEP.